I’m still alive.

This is a status update of sorts, for anyone who is following this blog and wondering what happened.

Work. School. Random internet entanglements.

All three somehow happened around the same time and squeezed out that free time I used to write about anime. These days, I’m grateful to be able to watch anime.

My job is at a sandwich shop called Milio’s. Nothing too exciting, it’s mainly there to keep me fed and under a roof. My school is just a community college; I’m entering a two-year program in wind turbine maintenance which will hopefully lead to an awesome job when I graduate! The random internet entanglements might be interesting to those of my readers who also frequent the website reddit. I and the moderators of /r/JapaneseAnimation created a new subreddit called /r/TrueAnime which is basically a discussion-only place to talk about anime without constant memes, AMVs, screenshots, etc. polluting the atmosphere. I’ve been at work there running an “anime club” where we all watch a few episodes a week of an anime we voted on. We have discussions, debates, nominations, and votes, so I lose a few hours a week to that.

So, with all that said, what of this blog?

Well, I have posts in embryonic form sitting on my computer that may or may not get completed eventually. You can look forward to maybe seeing the following:

  • An in-depth look at the directorial style of Osamu Dezaki via an analytic review of Nobody’s Boy Remi. This will include a bit of rambling and is so far pretty long. This will hopefully be a rewarding challenge to read, though I will try to make it as accessible as possible of course.
  • A discussion of my three favorite directors and why I like them so much.
  • The use of foreshadowing in the beginning of Blood-C.
  • Why I think “animes” is an acceptable plural of “anime”.
  • And, finally, there will of course be a continuation to the analysis series. I’m waiting for a scene to come along and impress me in the “I need to watch this 100 more times to figure out how it works” sort of way.

So there you have it. I’m not going to make any promises here, but I just wanted to let you know that the blog is, in fact, still alive.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

